Rumor : Doug Christie could be a Maverick ?

http://www.dfw.com/mld/dfw/sports/basketball/nba/dallas_mavericks/12234144.htm

If Finley leaves, Mavs hope it's by trade

[size=-1]By ART GARCIA[/size]

[size=-1]STAR-TELEGRAM STAFF WRITER[/size]

If the Mavericks so choose, they can release Michael Finley as early as next week.

They won't. While Finley's departure remains academic, don't bet on it coming by way of the "amnesty" clause in the NBA's new collective bargaining agreement, which is expected to be approved early next week. Trading the longest-tenured Maverick has become the preferred vehicle of exit.

And it may prove to be the only one.

The Mavs have at least one deal on the table for Finley, possibly with Orlando, that satisfies Mark Cuban's requirement of receiving expiring contracts in return. The Mavs will continue to pursue a trade and could easily wait until the eve of training camp before deciding Finley's fate.

Even if the Mavs don't receive a better offer, the team is leaning strongly against making Finley a free agent through the amnesty clause. No one in the Mavs front office wants to see Finley sign with a Western Conference rival, such as Phoenix with Steve Nash, Denver, San Antonio or Houston.

Don't count on Finley's situation being settled for at least two months.

As for next week, teams can also begin signing free agents, and the Mavs are in the running for center Steven Hunter. The 7-footer spent last season with Phoenix after three years in Orlando.

Adding an athletic body to the frontcourt is an area the Mavs want to address. Hunter's agent, Mark Bartelstein, said several teams, including the Mavs, are pursuing the 24-year-old, who averaged 4.6 points and 3.0 rebounds with the Suns.

"We're having a number of conversations, and we'll see what happens," Bartelstein said. "There's a lot of interest in him."